Fragments of Poetry 11

“The Wild Rose”  by Wendell Berry

Sometimes hidden from me
in daily custom and trust,
so that I live by you unaware
as by the beating of my heart,

suddenly you flare in my sight,
a wild rose blooming at the edge
of thicket, grace and light
where yesterday was only shade,

and once more I am blessed, choosing
again what I chose before.

This post is dedicated to my loving wife, Mary.

The Selected Poems of Wendell Berry  ©  1998


Photo Location:

Kent County,  Michigan

Wild Rose/Swamp Rose – Rosa palustris

8 thoughts on “Fragments of Poetry 11”

  1. Jelka:

    Thanks for your recognition, and for passing this along to your friends.

    Wendell Berry captured the true and deeper feeling of love experienced by some older couples. Mary and I have kept our marriage alive with passion and a commitment to always building the relationship.

    Richard

    Like

  2. Dad, this is my favorite Wendell Berry poem, and has always reminded me of you and Mom, since the first time I read it. Thank you for teaching me how enduring a loving relationship can be. Ben and I are blessed to have such great role models as we begin our life of love together.
    Love you!
    Sarah

    Like

Leave a Reply

